Where Has Time Gone?

It’s been over six months, seven to be more precise, since I have posted on here.  Winter had settled in here in my tiny town and the depression and the darkness had settled into my mind and all the creativity had left for the season.  I just could not find any inspiration whatsoever to photograph, which is why this blog lay dormant for so many months.

 

However, it is April and though it is still chilly at night but becoming more warm during the day and signs of spring are peeking through the damage of winter, lots of inspiration is coming through and the darkness has pretty much lifted from my mind.  So that minds more and more frequent posts and more posts coming your way.  🙂

 

Introducing my baby!

Polaroid IS2132-16MP 21X Zoom

Polaroid IS2132-16MP 21X Zoom

 

This past weekend I had the opportunity to get away to the beautiful Camp Timbercrest in Randolf, NY. Camp Timbercrest is a Girl Scout camp located on 900 acres of beautiful wilderness in the foothills of the Allegheny forest.  I spent at least a week, if not two, every summer there at camp since I was 10 years until I was 18, where I returned the summer after I graduated high school as a counselor there for camp.  This weekend was a ‘service weekend’, where troops from my town and the next town over came from Friday evening till Sunday at 11 to do a mini-weekend.  The ages of the girls were from 5 years to 12 years of age.  Not only did they come to kinda clean the mess lodge and get it ready for summer and air it out, they also did the usual camping activites like crafts, campfires, cooking, badge work, etc.  It was kinda a mini camp week squeezed into one.  It got the younger girls ready to spend a week away from while earning some badges as well as the older girls working on some of their badges too.  My mom has her own troop and so does my one sister and my other sister is in my mom’s troop.  I was a Girl Scout too was I was younger.

 

I was not involved directly in this weekend in any way, I was just along because my mother wanted me to get out of the house and to just get away for a weekend.  I really didn’t want to go.  I was worried about my back bothering me and I not being able to do anything and the cots bothering my back, etc.  Friday morning we took off early about 10ish because the troop leaders were to be early to do the bigger cleaning and such, so I had to go early with them.  My back did bother me that afternoon and I had to take a pain pill and that afternoon and evening was pretty much shot.  And it was a beautiful day too and would have been great to walk around as tolerated to take pictures.  My baby sister took my camera and took some pretty interested pictures.  She is always taking these amazing selfies with her mini ipad.  I was reviewing the photos this morning on my laptop and I was kinda blown away at her point of view when I saw her photos.  I laughed and shook my head.  She can be such a card sometimes lol  😀

 

But I digress, The Serene View is about photography and my photos, not about my personal narratives.  If you want to hear more indepth about my weekend at Camp Timbercrest, please click HERE:

Here are some of the best photos from this weekend:

 

The Swim Shed.  One of the most “weathered” things that was saved to be used at Camp Timbercrest is the tin shed near the swimming area by Bellinger Lodge. The shed served as storage and as rainy weather waterfront staff shelter at Lakota on Upper Cassadaga Lake. This area was used by Woodelohi campers for swimming, canoeing and rowboating. Joanne reports that the shed was there in 1959 when she began working at Woodelohi, so she knows it has been around at least since then!

The Swim Shed. One of the most “weathered” things that was saved to be used at Camp Timbercrest is the tin shed near the swimming area by Bellinger Lodge. The shed served as storage and as rainy weather waterfront staff shelter at Lakota on Upper Cassadaga Lake. This area was used by Woodelohi campers for swimming, canoeing and rowboating. Joanne reports that the shed was there in 1959 when she began working at Woodelohi, so she knows it has been around at least since then!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Money to build the lodge came from the Gebbie Foundation which was established in 1964 under the wills of Miss Marion Gebbie and Mrs. Geraldine Bellinger. In 2006-2007, Bellinger underwent major rennovations – a new roof, a new kitchen, winterization, indoor toilets, updated showers… and the latrines near Bellinger were removed in June of 2007.

Money to build the lodge came from the Gebbie Foundation which was established in 1964 under the wills of Miss Marion Gebbie and Mrs. Geraldine Bellinger. In 2006-2007, Bellinger underwent major rennovations – a new roof, a new kitchen, winterization, indoor toilets, updated showers… and the latrines near Bellinger were removed in June of 2007.

 

The kitchen inside Bellinger Lodge.

The kitchen inside Bellinger Lodge.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I believe this is the shelter up at the Sprucewood Campsite.  There are many spruce trees growing in this tent unit, hence it's name.

I believe this is the shelter up at the Sprucewood Campsite. There are many spruce trees growing in this tent unit, hence it’s name.

 

Sign inside Bellinger Lodge.

Sign inside Bellinger Lodge.

 

 

 

 

 

The itinerary for the weekend.

The itinerary for the weekend.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Inside the mess hall in Bellinger Lodge.

Inside the mess hall in Bellinger Lodge.

 

 

 

The swimming area at Keyser Lake.  The lake was named in honor of Esther “Skipper” Keyser, Executive Director of the Chautauqua Area Girl Scout Council.

The swimming area at Keyser Lake. The lake was named in honor of Esther “Skipper” Keyser, Executive Director of the Chautauqua Area Girl Scout Council.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This bird is native to the western US.  It is one of Mark Baker's rehab birds.

This bird is native to the western US. It is one of Mark Baker’s rehab birds.

 

 

The hawk.

The hawk.

 

The Snowy Owl and Barn Owl 25 April 2014.

The Snowy Owl and Barn Owl 25 April 2014.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The little Screech Owl 26 April 2014.

The little Screech Owl 26 April 2014.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Just some random grass.  It is just so nice to see green after all the white crap  :)  25 April 2014.

Just some random grass. It is just so nice to see green after all the white crap 🙂 25 April 2014.

 

 

 

Me with the Snowy Owl 26 April 2014

Me with the Snowy Owl 26 April 2014

 

My sister, Grace, and I, in the car on our way to Camp Timbercrest.  Yes, I realize it is quite blurry because we were on the expressway.  This was taken on my Google Nexus 10 tablet.

My sister, Grace, and I, in the car on our way to Camp Timbercrest. Yes, I realize it is quite blurry because we were on the expressway. This was taken on my Google Nexus 10 tablet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Taken on my Google Nexus 10 tablet.

Taken on my Google Nexus 10 tablet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some random leaves.  Taken on my Google Nexus 10 tablet.

Some random leaves. Taken on my Google Nexus 10 tablet.

 

 

Taken with my Google Nexus 10 tablet.

Taken with my Google Nexus 10 tablet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dusk shot of Keyser Lake.

Dusk shot of Keyser Lake.

 

Dusk shot of Keyser Lake.

Dusk shot of Keyser Lake.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The view down the back stairs of Bellinger Lodge.  Grace took this one.

The view down the back stairs of Bellinger Lodge. Grace took this one.

DSCI0216

The cabin across Keyser Lake.

The cabin across Keyser Lake.

 

The Barn owl.

The Barn owl.

Barn owl,

Barn owl

 

 

 

This shot of the swimming area of Keyser Lake was taken from the balcony of Bellinger Lodge.

This shot of the swimming area of Keyser Lake was taken from the balcony of Bellinger Lodge.

A 27 April 2014

Keyser Lake with Jackman’s Bay in the foreground. 27 April 2014

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I earned my Spring Camp badge this past weekend! 25-27 April 2014

I earned my Spring Camp badge this past weekend! 25-27 April 2014

 

These last few shots I thought were the best out of all of them this weekend.  Please let me know what you think.  I welcome any feedback and/or criticisms.

27 April 2014

27 April 2014

 

27 April 2014

27 April 2014

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

27 April 2014

27 April 2014

 

Clouds reflecting on Keyser Lake 27 April 2014

Clouds reflecting on Keyser Lake 27 April 2014

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cabin across Keyser Lake

Cabin across Keyser Lake

 

Keyser Lake 27 April 2014

Keyser Lake
27 April 2014

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thank you for reading my post!  I hope you enjoyed it.  I will do a separate post for the pictures that Grace took because I specifically want to talk about those and her unique point of view.  These photos are all unedited.  And please, if there are photographers viewing this post, I welcome any pointers, criticisms, feedback, comments, etc.  I was having a lot of problems with shutter speeds, over exposures, etc. this weekend and as you can probably tell, this photos didn’t come out as crisp as I wanted them to and as professional looking as other people’s photos do.  But, I do my best and carry on  🙂  And please remember for my full story of my weekend at Camp Timbercrest, please all about it read it HERE.  Thanks!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

